top of page

The lesson that Final Fantasy X-2 taught me

So after "god moding" Final Fantasy X, I decided that I was going to do the same for Final Fantasy X-2 and the main part of that goal was maxing out every ability for every dressphere in the game. However after playing the game last night for several hours, I realized something; maxing out every ability for every dressphere would make the game boring and more time-consuming. I say that because after learning the Protect ability with one of my girls as a White Mage, it made me question whether it was important to master every dressphere ability.

In the back of my mind, I always convinced myself that it was necessary, but last night made me realize that it wasn't only for the simple fact that my girls were learning abilities for their dresspheres by using them against certain enemies in certain areas. For example, if you're going to a place with elementals, bring a Black Mage, a White Mage or Alchemist and possibly a Warrior if a non-elemental is on the level. The Queen Coeurl enemies are the biggest bitches in the game; turn them over to your Dark Knight, Samurai, or Berserker dressphere, your life points will thank you.

The Tonberry enemy is a pain in the butt too, but you can counter that by turning him over to your Berserkers. Now, I feel as if I can play the game and be smart about using my dresspheres in certain situations; it is worth mentioning that mastering the -proof abilities for the dresspheres first and foremost will save you tons of healing items and headaches as well as frustration down the line.

Plus, saving your Special Dresspheres’ powers for oversouled enemies make dealing with them easier because the dresspheres have powers that allow a quick recovery and powerful abilities that can blind as well as incapacitate those enemies. Interesting enough, using Rikku’s Machina Maw until it learns Shockwave (first set the ability to learn) is extremely advised because it does not start with any good moves like Yuna’s Floral Fallal and Paine’s Full Throttle.

While I was playing the game, I remembered another of my tips which was always have a healer in battle in case the going gets tough which it does. In following this tip, one of my girls were able to learn the White Magic abilities that I wanted them to and not constantly using the Pray ability to help fast track learning those abilities. The same can be said for the Gunner Dressphere, using that when there are Evil Eye enemies will make dealing with them easier especially if the gamer has learned Darkproof; not using the Trigger Happy ability for the Gunner Dressphere made me appreciate its Gunplay abilities.

All that time in the past when I played the game versus playing last night really made me realize that I was playing the game all wrong those many years ago even recently; this game has become one of my favorites because it has helped me grow up as a gamer and as a strategist. I’m appreciative of the lesson this has taught me because as I now go onto Ch.3 in the game (the hardest chapter in my opinion); everything I learned will come in handy.

bottom of page