top of page

PS3 Slim Review


Introduction

I can say with 100% certainty that I didn’t think anything of the PS3 when it first came out because of all of the bugs that I knew the creators had to fix before it was playable not to mention marketable. In the little bit of time that I’ve had the PS3, it has proven to be a good system that has been good to me like the PS2 before it. My PS2 is everything to me, and I’ve grown to love my PS3 Slim so here is my review of the system and why I feel it is not too late to get one.

Cost

PS3 Slim’s price has decreased substantially. I was on Amazon.com 10 days ago looking at and comparing prices on PS3s and I was surprised at how low the price was. Granted, the PS3’s price drop is evident because of the PS4 and the upcoming games for it. Still, paying a little under $300 for a brand new PlayStation 3 Super Slim or a little under $100 for a new PlayStation 3 Slim is still a pretty good deal; if you can’t afford the PS4 right now then get a PS3. To put a fine point on this, it is easy to collect a wealth of PS3s because they are so low priced; I got mine from a local pawn shop for $65 in its original box.

Great working system

The PS3 Slim may not have the 500+ game stream that the PS4 has, but it is still a great working game system that requires very low maintenance as long as you remember that it requires a lot of room to breathe. People, myself included, complained how the PS3 was a piece of crap because it burned out too easily when all we had to do was keep the above in mind. Any game system will last you a lifetime as long as you treat it right, I hardly play my PS3, but when I do, I know every game that I put in there will work; I have a PS3 Super Slim 250gb.

A great console with gaming classics

The one thing that I can say that I fell in love with about the PS3 was the practical never-ending pool of gaming classics such as Ninja Gaiden Sigma I & II, Green Lantern: Rise of the Manhunter, Odin Sphere Leifthrasir and God of War III to name a few. The best part about these gaming classics is that they are also at a low price so building a collection for the PS3 is not a hardship which I think any gamer would appreciate; I have a huge collection of PS3 games and the aforementioned games are part of my collection as well.

Conclusion

Incidentally, there are people who are still on the hunt for a PS3 and can get one remarkably cheap for a little under $300. The PS3 is a great choice until the PS4 drops in price which won’t happen until later on in the year. The fact that the PS3 is a great console with a lot of gaming classics makes it worth the price and easy to stockpile them from local places such as pawn shops. I can’t think of a reason to not get another one, you should too.

bottom of page